In Your Eyes – Kate Boy ♫

I really don’t think I’m a music snob and I most definitely do not force my music down anyone’s throats (or ears) but I’m thinking it’s very important that everyone watch this video by the Swedish pop band Kate Boy.

I have always been captivated by electronic music. There’s something hypnotic about electronic sounds and the drum beats and synth lines in this song are just right. This is the song I can listen to first thing when I wake up and jump out of bed halfway through the song and feel wide awake.

Whatever I say about the video will not be good enough to describe how freaking brilliant it is. Minimalist and greyscale. They got my favourite checkboxes ticked on My What Makes A Good Music Video checklist.

What is even more enticing is that Kate Akhurst is wearing a baseball cap paired with a raincoat and dancing away like her body is a river which is rippling back and forth. She ensures that although the song is about eyes, hers remain perfectly shadowed throughout. Must say she reminds me a lot of Lykke Li. Or rather a sobered up version of her.

Leave a Comment

